People accepting award

U-M IOE takes home awards from the INFORMS Annual Meeting

IOE faculty and students bring in awards from the 2023 Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences Annual Meeting.

INFORMS at U-M Student Chapter accepting their award at INFORMS 2023

The 2023 Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS) Annual Meeting proved a great success for the University of Michigan Industrial and Operations Engineering (U-M IOE) Department. Below is a list of awards brought home from our U-M IOE community.

portrait of Mark Daskin
Mark Daskin

U-M IOE Clyde W. Johnson Collegiate Professor Emeritus, Mark Daskin won the Saul Gass Expository Writing Award which honors an operations researcher or management scientist whose publications demonstrate a consistently high standard of expository writing. The awardee’s written work, published over a period of at least 10 years, should indicate an influence and accessibility enhanced by expository excellence.

Jonathan Owen
Jonathan Owen

U-M IOE Board Member Jonathan Owen won the George E. Kimball Medal. This award is in recognition of distinguished service to INFORMS and to the profession of operations research and the management sciences.

Leena and Lauren
Leena (L) and Lauren (R)

The INFORMS at U-M student chapter received the 2022-2023 student chapter annual award as summa cum laude. (Photo at top of article)

INFORMS faculty advisor: U-M IOE Associate Professor Ruiwei Jiang

2022 leadership team: Lauren Czerniak (president), Thomas Adelman, Hessa Al-Thani, Zaira Pagan Cajigas, Ava Conway, Tenzin Dawa, Arlen Dean, Gabrielle Fred, Leena Ghrayeb, Halle Mohr, Daniel Felipe Otero-Leon, Shiv Patel, Bryan Tapnio, and Dory Tung

2023 leadership team: Leena Ghrayeb (president), Thomas Adelman, Hessa Al-Thani, Zaira Pagan Cajigas, Tracy Chen, Jeffrey Choy, Lauren Czerniak, Debdip Sengupta, Madeleine Shinder, Kevin Smith, Muhammad Awais Sultan, and Daiwen Zhang

Each year INFORMS also grants various community awards that recognize the efforts of community members and volunteers. This year IOE members won several community awards including a second-place award in the INFORMS Junior Faculty Interest Group (JFIG) Paper Competition from Assistant Professor, Salar Fattahi and PhD Student, Jianhao Ma. To view all of the INFORMS community awards visit this page.

The 2023 INFORMS Annual Meeting occurred from Oct. 15-18 in Phoenix, AZ. Each meeting features research presentations, networking opportunities, and award ceremonies. This year the U-M IOE Department hosted nearly 200 people at their annual “Michigan Night” for attendees associated with the University of Michigan.