Alumni Merit Award

Damon Williams Portrait
Damon Williams

Each year U-M Industrial and Operations Engineering recognizes an alum who personifies the College of Engineering’s tradition of excellence.

2023 Alumni Merit Award Honoree: Damon P. Williams

Damon P. Williams serves as the inaugural associate dean for inclusive excellence and chief diversity officer, advancing the Georgia Tech’s diversity and inclusion initiatives and supporting a climate of equity and belonging across Georgia Tech’s community. Williams is a member of the academic faculty in the H. Milton Stewart School of Industrial and Systems Engineering (ISyE), where he is a senior lecturer and director of ISyE’s Center for Academics, Success, and Equity, which he founded in 2020. He also speaks nationally on higher education and diversity in academia.

Williams earned a Bachelor of Science in industrial engineering from Georgia Tech in 2002 and then a master’s and PhD in industrial and operations engineering from the University of Michigan. He returned to Georgia Tech as a postdoctoral fellow in the Center for Teaching and Learning and a part-time lecturer in ISyE in 2010. He turned his attention to teaching and advising full-time in 2014.

Williams also earned a Master of Divinity from Columbia Theological Seminary in Decatur, Georgia, and serves as senior pastor of Providence Missionary Baptist Church in southwest Atlanta.

Previous recipients
2022Harriet B. Nembhard
2020 (awarded 2021)Anne Shen Smith
2019Craig Russell
2018Robert G. Sargent
2017Gary Verplank
2016Norman Harbert
2015Bill Johnson
2014Betty Chao
2013Julia Higle
2012Chakor Doshi
2011Ranvir Trehan
2010Marlin Thomas
2009David H. Gustafson
2008Kedrick Adkins
2007Mary Petrovich
2006Wally Hopp
2005Lawrence D. Burns
2005Donald C. Graham (Alumni Society Medal)
2004Karl G. Bartscht
2003W. Peter Cherry
2002Erhan Cinlar
2001Roger Kallock
2000John A. Muckstadt
1999Robert M. Brown
1998Ralph E. Reins
1997John E. Utley, Jr.
1997Robert J. Vlasic (Alumni Society Medal)
1996 J. Dann Engels
1995C. Robert Kidder
1994Myun Woo Lee
1993Richard Carl Jelinek
1992Thom Hodgson